February 16, 2010

I’m 20 years old, and I’m currently finishing up a degree in English. I plan to take the LSAT and go to law school. I get up at 7:30 AM every day to go to class. Meanwhile, my three housemates (all of whom are older than I) are spending their college days playing videogames and beer pong until about 3 AM every night. OMGIMTHEADULT

-Scott Lysander


A few months ago I organized an art exhibition. One day a school class came over, it was some kind of mini-field trip. They wrote short essays about the exhibition and read some out loud as I was standing next to their teacher. I am 22 and was like OMGIMTHEADULT.

-Joscha Bruckert


I was 18 when I was in my room playing Grand Theft Auto 3.  My parents walked in, slump-shouldered and crying.  They looked at me and said, “We lost the house.”  Apparently, my parents had failed to budget their finances, and the bank had foreclosed on them.  They knelt at my feet, sullen and weeping as I sat on the edge of my bed.  I calmly put my controller down, held their faces in my hands and said, “Then we have to start packing. Crying won’t get us anywhere.  We need to pack up our shit, find a new place to live, and get moving.” Oh, My God, I’m the adult.

-D.

2 Responses to “”

  1. reality Says:

    no, if you were the adult you wouldn’t be playing grand theft auto 3 you would be working and supporting yourself.

  2. The Lucky Orphan Says:

    I think the author was not claiming to be _an_ adult, but rather recognizing a shift in the dynamic of the parent/child relationship. His/her parents used to be the adults, but fucked it up, putting him/her in the position of being the only person present, able, and willing to be _the_ adult and move the situation forward. D took control because the people who were supposed to be in charge failed to do so. This put D in the position where s/he thought “OMG, I’m the adult now.” That’s also reality.

    I’ve been there, D. Best of luck.


Leave a Reply

