November 27, 2009

I was one year out of college and on a date with an older guy. He apologized for his empty living room. Explained that his ex-wife had gotten all of the furniture in the divorce. I was stunned into silence, but not because he was a divorced man. I was stunned because I WAS OLD ENOUGH to date someone who was divorced, who owned a house, and who used to have living room furniture that hadn’t been pilfered from an alley or his parents’ basement.

-Jeanmari

After nearly a decade of being a university student in some form or another, I applied and landed a position as a sessional lecturer in Engineering.  The course just so happens to be an agglomeration of all of the industrial and academic experience I’ve had thus far, exactly my cup of tea.  My students are in the first term of 3rd year, and so this is 99% completely new material to them.  I’m the adult here.


~Liz Gusta

Leave a Reply

